OnlineBookClub.org

Featured Book

Books Reviewed by LivreAmour217

38 Published Reviews

1627 posts on the forums

About LivreAmour217

Favorite book: Ditto

Favorite author: Too many to count

Currently reading:

Location: Kentucky-Tennessee state line, USA

  • The Devil Take Tomorrow
      by Gretchen Jeannette
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published August 7, 2015

    Genre: Historical Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N | on Smashwords

    About the Author: "Gretchen Jeannette lives and works in Chester County, Pennsylvania, an area rich in Revolutionary War and Colonial American history. Her enduring interest in 18th Century America began at a young age, inspired by the novels of Dale Van Every and Allan Eckert, whose timeless tales of adventure and romance capture the essence of early American lore. Eager to read more such stories, to her disappointment she had trouble finding them on bookshelves. So she decided to write one of her own. Thus began a journey fueled by her passion to breathe life into history through believable characters, plots woven with adventure, romance and suspense and, of course, plenty of derring-do."

  • God Gave Us Wings
      by Connie Rankin
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published December 5, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on B&N

    About the Author: "How did Connie Rankin born in Atlanta, Georgia, go from a middle-class family to being homeless and then later becoming an award-winning entrepreneur and author of God Gave Us Wings? It was her infallible faith in the great I AM that convinced her it was possible for life to change. The wisdom gained from these childhood struggles were invaluable to her maneuvering around the many roadblocks of life. Her journey led her to Houston where she attended college and later became the President of a commercial real estate firm. She has received numerous accolades including the Fastest Growing Woman Owned Company Award by HBJ and the Woman of Influence by the National Real Estate Forum. She said that the most memorable award she ever received was at the White House from the Women's Business Enterprise National Council. She is passionate about improving the lives of others by sharing life lessons not taught in school for achieving success. Connie's intention for writing God Gave Us Wings is to demonstrate through ten unique stories from Oprah's amazing journey to a wounded warrior's battle, that you have the power to write a new ending to your story."

  • Big Flies
      by Keith Hirshland
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published October 14, 2016

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Keith Hirshland is a sports television producer with more than three decades of experience and an Emmy award under his belt. He produced shows that aired on ESPN and ESPN2. Hirshland later was among the first forty people hired by The Golf Channel in 1994. He was in the middle of the action when it premiered in 1995 and provided his talents for the all golf network for close to two decades. Big Flies is Hirshland’s second book and first novel. He is the author of Cover Me Boys, I’m Going In (Tales of the Tube from a Broadcast Brat), a memoir about his experiences in the television industry. Hirshland lives in New Jersey with his wife and Bernese Mountain Dog."

  • ARTHRITIS - The Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me.: Healing The Pain Of Psoriatic And Rheumatoid Arthritis And How Autoimmu
      by Phil Escott
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published August 5, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Phil Escott was born in 1962 in London, England. He grew up in Berkshire/Surrey and went to Charterhouse school, which didn’t appeal to him much, so he rebelled a lot. At least the English lessons sank in though, and from those he found writing to come very natural to him. He has always been very interested in spirituality in its many forms and over his lifetime has dabbled in all sorts of ways to expand one’s consciousness including living decades in the Transcendental Meditation community in Skelmersdale, England where he still lives today. Over the years he has primarily been a musician, a drummer/percussionist, performing and recording in a wide range of musical styles. In 1993 he recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios and was produced by Gabriel’s top engineer Dave Bottrill. He has travelled extensively in Europe, Africa and Asia and used to live at the UK free festivals with the famous Peace Convoy back in the early 1980s. Phil has traded in Asian carpets and gemstones, owned and run a gym and indoor climbing wall centre, and written and done photography for health, travel, bodybuilding, carp fishing and mountain biking magazines. In 2015, Phil finished writing his book, Arthritis – The Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me (Healing the Pain Of Psoriatic And Rheumatoid Arthritis And How Autoimmunity Can Heal Your Body And Soul). It follows his own recovery from psoriatic arthritis which literally crippled him in 2010, relating it to many diet and lifestyle changes and even to several awakenings that he has been blessed with over the years. In May 2015 he was asked by Rick Archer to do an interview for his internationally known online show Buddha at the Gas Pump, and since then, due to the popularity of his appearance, Phil has been doing Skype consultations with people all over the world, chatting to them about autoimmune issues and non-duality. He also is does public speaking appearances and health retreat sessions. Phil spends most of his time being a Dad, proofreading a monthly UK fishing magazine, fishing and playing drums in several local bands."

  • The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman
      by Brady Stefani
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published July 26, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Brady G. Stefani has a bachelor's degree in creative writing, and a graduate degree in law. During law school, he spent time as an involuntary commitment caseworker for the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health, where he interacted with patients suffering from severe thought disorders, including numerous patients presenting with subjectively real memories of being visited and abducted by alien beings (commonly referred to as alien abduction phenomenon). It was through his study of these patients, along with his own struggles with anxiety and cognition, that Stefani became aware of just how deceiving, mysterious, and powerfully resilient, the human mind can be. In an effort to provide awareness of mental suffering, and spread hope to all those touched by it, Stefani is focused on writing YA novels that explore the experience of being different and the other-worldly places our boundary-less imaginations can take us. Alienation is his first novel. But with two works currently in progress, the journey has just begun."

  • On Afghanistan's Plains
      by Barry Alexander
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published June 22, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Educated at the Sussex and Kent Institute of Nursing, the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst and the United Kingdom Joint Services Command and Staff College, Barry Alexander is a veteran of 20 years service in the British Army. Enlisting as a Private soldier, Barry's career saw him travel the world, undertaking active service in the Balkans, Northern Ireland, Sierra Leone, Iraq and Afghanistan before retiring as a Major in 2014. Barry's poetry has been published in the 2011 anthology Heroes:100 poems from the New Generation of War Poets (Ebury Press). Barry's debut book, 'On Afghanistan's Plains' is a memoir based on his time leading medics on operations in Afghanistan in 2007. Barry is based in the UK and works internationally."

  • Crowning Glory: An Experiment in Self-Discovery Through Disguise
      by Stacy Harshman
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published June 4, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Stacy Harshman recently relocated from NYC to Vermont where she currently works on a therapeutic farm. After a Midwestern childhood in a family of designers, antique dealers, and equestrians, Stacy traveled extensively before finding a home in New York City, which she still maintains. Always driven toward creative expression, Stacy writes fiction, memoir and essays, and has written and recorded five albums of original music. Her passion for color and pattern led to the launch of Andarina Designs, a custom lighting design company. Stacy is inspired by women all over the world, working in community partnerships to produce beautiful and sustainable work. Currently, her favored form of expression is mixed media painting-collages. She devotes her time to animals and to the healing arts. Stacy invites readers to connect with her on her website and on Facebook."

  • The Funny Thing About War
      by Al Campo
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published February 23, 2016

    Genre: Historical Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Al Campo was born April 18, 1950 in Brooklyn, NY. His family moved to Lindenhurst, Long Island in 1955 where Al still resides. He is a retired mortgage-banking executive of 30 years and Vietnam War Veteran having served aboard the USS Lawrence from 1972 to 1974 as a boatswain mate and operations specialist. Before entering the Navy and starting his career in business he attended the Universities of Missouri and Hofstra. Nowadays when he isn't tending to his gardens or riding his Harley, he is plying his acquired boatswain mate's skills tying fishing knots on his boat the Moody Blues along the southern shores of Long Island. THE FUNNY THING ABOUT WAR is his first novel."

  • Days of the Giants
      by RJ Petrella
  • Eat Wheat
      by John Douillard, DC, CAP
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published December 20, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N | on iTunes

    About the Author: "Dr. John Douillard, DC, CAP, is a globally recognized leader in the fields of natural health, Ayurveda, and sports medicine. John Douillard is evolving the way Ayurveda is understood around the world, with over 700 articles and videos proving ancient wisdom with modern science. Dr. John is the former Director of Player Development for the New Jersey Nets NBA team, author of 7 health books, a repeat guest on the Dr. Oz show, and featured in Woman’s World Magazine, Huffington Post, Yoga Journal and dozens of other publications. He has seen over 100,000 patients, and directs LifeSpa, the 2013 Holistic Wellness Center of the year in Boulder, CO."

  • Protecting Elvis
      by Charlotte Morgan
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published September 9, 2016

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Charlotte G. Morgan is the author of One August Day, nominated by the Library of Virginia for the Virginia Literary Prize in Fiction. Protecting Elvis is her latest novel. Her short fiction has won numerous prizes, including one story published in the prestigious Pushcart Prize Collection. She was awarded a M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Virginia Commonwealth University, where she studied with Paule Marshall, Lee Smith, and Tom DeHaven. For twenty-five summers she has served as writer-in-residence at Nimrod Hall Summer Artists Workshop, where she has worked with author Cathryn Hankla."

  • The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster
      by Scott Wilbanks
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published September 10, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "They say, “Write what you know.” Who ‘they’ may be still remains a mystery, but I took the advice to heart when I wrote a book about a pair of misfits who found themselves walking a path I trod daily, seeking understanding in an indifferent world, but more on that later. With my life constantly pushed and pulled by a pair of opposing bugaboos—ADD and drive—I surprised myself by graduating summa cum laude from The University of Oklahoma while also garnering a handful of titles in the sport of gymnastics. Life-changing accidents, lost loves, and an unremarkable career path followed, that is until a lawsuit and Mike changed everything. The lawsuit motivated me to step away from my career. Mike added the extra push, convincing me to take a leap of faith, and move to the country of his birth, New Zealand, while also encouraging me to “see where this writing will take me.” Scott is the author of THE LEMONCHOLY LIFE OF ANNIE ASTER, a commercial fiction novel with a fantasy premise releasing August 4, 2015 that tells the story of two pen pals who are fighting against the clock to solve the mystery behind the hiccup in time connecting their homes before one of them is convicted of a murder that is yet to happen… and yet somehow already did."

  • Bella Vita
      by Susan Lynn Solomon
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published August 15, 2016

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Formerly a Manhattan entertainment attorney, and then a contributing editor to the quarterly art magazine SunStorm Fine Arts, Susan Lynn Solomon now lives in Niagara Falls, New York, where she is in charge of legal and financial affairs for a management consulting firm. After moving to Niagara Falls she became a member of Just Buffalo Literary Center’s Writers Critique Group, and turned her attention to writing fiction. Since 2009, a number of her short stories have appeared in literary journals, including, Abigail Bender (awarded an Honorable Mention in a Writer’s Journal short romance competition), Witches Gumbo, Ginger Man, The Memory Tree, Elvira, Second Hand, Sabbath (nominated for 2013 Best of the Net by the editor of Prick of the Spindle), and Kaddish. Her latest short stories are, Yesterday’s Wings, about a woman searching for the courage of her past, appears in the October 2015 edition of, Imitation Fruit; Captive Soul, which is included in volume 1 of Solstice Publishing’s Halloween anthology, Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep; and Going Home, which appears in the October 19 issues of Flash Fiction Press. Her Solstice Publishing murder mystery novel, The Magic of Murder is available on Amazon. Bella Vita is a short sequel to The Magic of Murder"

  • Master of Ceremonies
      by Jonathan C. Harris
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published July 16, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on B&N | on iTunes

    About the Author: "Jonathan C. Harris was born a leader. Raised in Fort Washington, Maryland, he has served in leadership positions his entire life, from being manager of the school store in elementary school to president of the Homelessness Awareness Club in middle school to president of the National Honor Society in high school. During his time studying statistics at the University of Delaware, he also served as a resident assistant, freshmen year experience peer mentor, and tour guide to help students feel at home. Jonathan currently works at Lincoln University in Pennsylvania as a Residence Hall Coordinator where he oversees two male residence halls. He has planned and presented at numerous seminars and conferences related to issues on college campuses. He has received several honors and awards including High School Valedictorian, Residence Hall Coordinator of the Year, Dean's List, Residence Life's People Choices Award, Resident Assistant of the Month, Kiwanis Club Citizenship Award, and Sigma Alpha Pi Excellence in Service to Students Award. Jonathan recently launched his own business called "Judicious Life" where he hosts community workshops, provides individual life coaching, and makes weekly inspirational videos called "Words for Wednesday." He hosts his own weekly radio show called "Thinking Out Loud," where he speaks on issues in the community. In his spare time, he enjoys walking, reading, spending time with family and friends, mentoring students, volunteering in the community, and watching movies."

  • Sunspots
      by Gary Martin
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published April 27, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Gary Martin was born in the small market town of Devizes, Wiltshire in 1978. Back then, the maternity ward was on the same site as the mental health hospital, and some of his friends would probably say that explains a lot. He still lives in Devizes with his wife and their idiot dog. In his real life he works as a printer, he says the hours are long, the shift pattern is awkward, and ultimately it's very dull. He spends most of his free time making sci-fi models, binge watching TV shows on netflix, painting, writing, going down the pub, recording music, and playing in three bands. Drums in two of them and bass in the other. He's played guitar and sung in a few bands in the past, but the less said about that the better. He's also made a couple of very low budget sci-fi films with a friend, that are on Youtube somewhere. Gary has always had a soft spot for the more naive sci-fi of the 50's 60's and 70's, with their monsters of the week, and the man in a bad suit attacking miniature spaceships, submarines, or cities. He wrote 'Sunspots' on his days off, between his other hobbies over the course of a year. The original idea behind 'Sunspots' was for it to be vaguely similar to Star trek, (which he loves all of) but with swearing and knob gags. He then developed it from there. A lot of the ideas came to him while working the night shift. He says that between 2am and 4am is a very odd time to still be awake, and the brain starts thinking in odd ways, so he jotted anything down that may just work in the story. He is currently working on the 'Sunspots' sequel, which he thinks will probably done by late 2016, early 2017. Probably."

  • The Siege of Laronto
      by Neil Jopson
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published February 18, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Neil Jopson was born in Burnley. His travels have taken him from Chelsea to Melbourne, and lots of places in-between. In 2014, after years of talking about it, he finally published his great grandfather's journal of his time in the trenches of the Great War. At the same time he decided he wanted to publish his own writing, and decided to stop talking (as much) and start writing. He now lives in Bromley in Kent."

  • True Love Never Dies
      by Francis T. Sganga and May Locke Sganga
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published December 15, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Francis (Frank) Sganga is a 94 year-old, racquetball-playing, motorcycle riding ex-educator-turned writer. He has a B. A degree in Science and an M.A. in English literature. He was a teacher, principal and a mathematics supervisor for 33 years in Volusia County, Florida. I has four children, three grandchildren and three great grandchildren. He lost his first wife Babs of 5 years in 2003, and he is currently married to May Locke Sganga whom he met by pure chance over the internet when she happened upon his blog: sganga.net that is still viable. He has 11 books available at Amazon's Kindle store , all written after he turned 90."

  • The Child
      by James Cates
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published November 20, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I was born in Garland, Tx. where I attended Christian school through high school. I took online seminary courses that led me to writing. I now live in Mi. with my wife Theresa and our two dogs yoyo and boo boo."

  • Luna Tree
      by Maya Berger
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published April 3, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Maya Berger is a middle-aged, first-time mother born in Croatia, at the crossroads of Central and Eastern Europe. She is also a survivor of a rare autoimmune disease that affects the spine and bigger joints. The daughter of two physicians, Maya grew up feeling she should follow their footsteps and become a pediatrician. However, Maya did not think much of the school system, and didn’t feel it was good enough to support that choice. As a child, she doubted herself a lot, and chose getting the Economics Degree at the University instead, probably because it was the natural thing to do. Maya worked in big corporations' sales and marketing teams for ten years, but decided to become her own boss and started a pilates studio. Today, she coaches energy relaxations sessions, promotes Croatian tourism, and writes books."

  • Jules
      by Kaelia Stevens
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published March 14, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Writing from a young age, I published my first book in June of 2015 in honor of my father, Rod Bayron. My novels are a tribute to him, as he was one of my main influences in reading and writing. A lifetime nerd, animal care-giver, current student of the arts and aspiring ceramist, my artistic nature is akin to a bloodmoon: It shows up once in a while, it's strange and mysterious, and it has a tendency to freak people out."

  • The Quiet Revolution
      by Ed Barajas
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published October 30, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Ed Barajas retired from the Federal Bureau of Prisons after twenty-seven years of service, including twelve years in three maximum security prisons. He began his career as a correctional officer right after graduating from college. He worked his way into management and administrative positions, including ten years with the National Institute of Corrections in Washington, DC. He has been a guest lecturer at universities and has written chapters of criminal justice textbooks and published articles and guest editorials in various periodicals. He and his wife live in North Carolina."

  • The Time Walkers
      by Kurt and Celeste Burnum
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published July 2, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Born in Ely, Nevada Kurt Burnum grew up in small town atmosphere not far from Salt Lake City Utah. Graduating from White Pine High School in 2002 he led the life of a Blackjack Dealer in The Northeastern Nevada Casinos such as the Hotel Nevada and Gambling Hall in downtown Ely. Currently living in the high desert of Southern California he resides with his Wife and Life Long Partner Celeste and six year old Cat Gabriel."

  • Military Wives: Rare Details You Must Know Before & After the Vow
      by Natisha Haynie
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published June 12, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Natisha Haynie is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas. She is a veteran of the United States Air Force. Her job title while enlisted was Diagnostic Imaging Apprentice. She performed clinical x-rays, fluoroscopies, and CT scans. She is now a Certified Medical Radiologic Technologist with a registry in ARRT. During her enlistment, she was selected to serve as an assistant to the Sexual Assault Response Coordinator for Barksdale AFB. She received innumerable awards and recognitions. A few include “Airman of the Quarter” in 2012, advance promotion to Senior Airman (SrA BTZ), and the Air Force Achievement Medal. She is a former dual military spouse. She and her husband served active duty concurrently. Their life together began prior to joining the military. They decided to embark on a journey together that would generate more financial stability. The benefits from earning a degree while trying to work full time seemed nonexistent for them. They wed after less than a year in the service. She is now a civilian spouse to her active duty husband, a full-time student, and stay at home mom. In her spare time, she enjoys vacationing with family and close friends. She has a newly developed business tailored to at-risk youth; teaching them the importance of abstinence. Her desire is to break the negative assumptions of marriage and lessen the statistic of single parent households. In the future her dreams are to continue writing as a secondary hobby. Her main focus will be working in her career field of Radiology; preferably as a manager or as a Radiation Therapist to inspire those who have long term illnesses."

  • A Dance Out of Time
      by Catherine Greenfeder
  • Forever Twelve
      by Meg Kimball
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published December 29, 2014

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I have a BA in Psychology from Bellarmine University. I worked as a reading and comprehension instructor for over three years. I've also worked as a residential youth counselor. I live in Louisville, KY and enjoy DIY and woodworking. (Building bookshelves is my specialty.) And, of course, I love to write. Don't make me angry--I have a thesaurus and I'm not afraid to use it."

  • Jay's Coach Learns a Lesson
      by Kamon
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published November 25, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Kamon was born in Quebec in 1957. Kamon has been living in Asia for 26 years. Kamon's books are published in French, English and some in Chinese. With more than 34 titles published, Kamon writes funny children's books seasoned with mindfulness, a relevant topic in today's world."

  • Gods of the Deep
      by D A Lascelles
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published January 20, 2017

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "D.A Lascelles is a former clinical scientist turned teacher. He writes in his spare time and his first short story, Gods of the Sea, was originally published in Pirates and Swashbucklers Anthology by Pulp Empires. His novella Transitions, a paranormal romance novella, was later released by Mundania Press and he has also released a collection of short stories under the title Lurking Miscellany."

  • Telly Tales III
      by Paul David Powers
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published January 12, 2016

    Genre: Children's Books
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Paul David Powers graduated from Miracle Valley Bible College in 1976. In 1982, he received Leadership Development / Helping People Who Hurt Certificates from David Wilkerson’s- World Challenge Institute of Christian Training. “Journalism Awards-1992-1997”, as Photographer & Editor of TNCC’s- The Nelsonite. In 1997, He graduated from Thomas Nelson Community College with an Associates Degree in Photography, Southside VA Community College, with an Associates Degree in Human Services, Substance Abuse Counseling. He holds a Bachelors Degree in Counseling from Master’s International School of Divinity. In 2011, Paul retired after Thirty Two Years in Outreach and as a Counselor! He lives in Cumberland, MD!"

  • Autism
      by Susan Walker
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published September 27, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Susan Walker is a physical therapist whom enjoys her time writing and learning about the science behind human interaction. She studied at the University of Michigan, doubling majoring in biology and human anatomy."

  • Quiet Heroes of the Great Wars
      by Denise Martin
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published July 23, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Denise Martin has an HBAcc and an M AppliedSc from Charles Sturt University, Australia. She works as a Medical Imaging Technologist in Toronto, and lives in Ridgeway with her husband and son."

  • Life's Elements
      by Andre Davis Jacobs
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published May 14, 2015

    Genre: Drama and Poetry
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Andre Davis-Jacobs (40) is the author of three poetry books. “To Live and To Love” in September of 2005. “The Sky Is Waiting” in December of 2006 and republished March of 2015. Life's Elements published in March of 2015. He's been published in the November 2005, March 2007, and January 2009 editions of ESSENCE Magazine in the poetry section. He now resides and works in his home town of Wichita Kansas. Featured on several websites online. He has been writing poetry since 2001, and is working on novels and short stories. Also looking to continue writing and publishing. Member of the United States Navy from April of 1993 to April of 1997. He can be contacted by way of Facebook and also Twitter."

  • Storm Damage
      by Rosalind Coleman
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published February 9, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Since her childhood in Louisiana, Rosalind has been blessed by God with the gift of creativity. Sitting on her bed with crayons in hand, she would manufacture picture books and turn those stories into plays for her dolls to perform. After graduating from Grambling State University, Rosalind later moved to Oklahoma City where she worked a myriad of jobs from retail sales to school librarian. Currently, she works as a GED examiner. Throughout the years, however, Rosalind has never forgotten her love for the written word. Married to her college sweetheart for over thirty-three years, Rosalind and her husband, Bobby are blessed with a daughter, Roshonda. Rosalind enjoys reading, drawing, genealogy and most of all her God-given gift of writing. God has now called her to use this gift to spread His joyous Word. Storm Damage is her first of hopefully many more novels."

  • Apple
      by RA Black
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published January 21, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N | on Smashwords

    About the Author: "RA Black was born in Southampton and wrote her first story when she was five. She wanted to be an astronaut when she grew up but ended up working in IT after graduating university. While her career didn't exactly go to plan, she never stopped writing, which allowed her to visit many worlds. She now lives in Bath with her long-term partner and more plushie animals than will comfortably fit on the couch."

  • Please Hug Me--I'm an Office Monkey
      by Jeff Michaels
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published December 29, 2014

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Author and musician Jeff Michaels is the proud creator of the Please Hug Me Series. His first book, PLEASE HUG ME--I'VE BEEN DELAYED, was featured on NPR, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, and was voted a Top 12 Book to Chill Out to by MORE Magazine for Women. His years of traveling and touring experience led to one of the most practical yet hilarious travel books every written, boosting the morale of stranded airport passengers nationwide. Following his hit guide to air travel, Michaels takes a look at another population in desperate need of a morale boost, the lonely cubicle dweller, in his new book PLEASE HUG ME--I'M AN OFFICE MONKEY: The Only Guide You'll Ever Need to Survive Life in a Cubicle. On the music side, Michaels' is a self-taught pianist whose songs has been featured on The Real World (MTV), The T.O. Show (Vh1), and CNN Radio. He is an adequate chess player who rarely learns from his mistakes, and claims to be a level 10 Sudoku player (even though no such rankings exist). He grew up Catholic, almost married a Jewish chiropractor, and can't decide which has cost him more hours of therapy. He calls Boston and San Francisco home, but primarily lives at Starbucks."

  • EDNA IN THE DESERT
      by Maddy Lederman
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published November 19, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Edna In The Desert is Maddy Lederman's first novel. Her writing has appeared in The Huffington Post, The Los Angeles Times and The Sun Runner, a magazine about California deserts. Maddy's short films were on The Independent Film Channel and screened at festivals nation-wide. She works in the art department for films and TV shows, recently on The Amazing Spiderman 2, Darren Aronofsky's Noah, and The Dictator. She's a native New Yorker who loves to travel, hike, drive, go out to eat and be in the desert."

  • Glodwyn's Treasure Chest
      by L. Sydney Abel, Helen Alexander, Janice Clark, Penny Estelle, Mary Filmer, Elizabeth Grace, Vincent
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published November 7, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on Smashwords

    About the Author: "With twelve authors contributing, it began as a way for authors to introduce people to their work, and was intended to be distributed free. In order to reach catalogues which do not accept free books, it was decided to make a charge on such platforms but donate all monies received to charity. The charity chosen for "Glodwyn's Treasure Chest", was the World Literacy Foundation. They are an international charity which recognizes the link between literacy and conquering poverty, ill health and practices such as child marriage, and seeks to help with basic literacy skills through clever use of modern technology and cloud computing."

  • Planet of the herakoses
      by Nawazish Ali
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published October 29, 2014

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "My name is Nawazish Ali. I am a 46 years old man living in Quetta City, Pakistan. I am an employee of National Bank of Pakistan but my real passion is reading books. This is my first attempt at writing and I have enjoyed it enormously. I think that my efforts are not wasted."

  • Five Steps to Enlightenment
      by Mark Aspa
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by LivreAmour217 - Published October 17, 2014

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I have always been fascinated by the transforming power of the spirituality that dwells within each woman, man and child. Since I had a life changing encounter with the Divine at 18, I have known that with self training I can reach an inner world that is so full of peace and love as to be beyond description. I have entered this inner dimension thousands of times, to the extent where it has become more real to me than the effects of the senses. The inner world is one of certainty, continuity and constancy. It never changes despite stress, trauma or even lack of faith. It is simply who we are: the Self, Soul, God's Presence in us, Divine Consciousness. I have been most blessed to have a fully Divine Teacher, Sathya Sai Baba, who stills keeps me close to Him and guides me. He has brought me through confusion and chaos to know who I am. It is His Love that has sustained me all these years and given me healing, and initiation in the Truth. I am open to all spiritual paths and have frequented the temples and read texts from all the religions such as the Bible, Koran, Dhammapada, Zend Avesta, Vedas and many more. I believe that we can develop through all means, not just the so-called spiritual, including suffering - if only our heart and mind are open and we can trust our self to move to the next step. I worked as a trained psychiatric nurse for 6 years in UK. At 30, I moved to India where I assisted at a children and old people's home. I also worked 6 years in the media department of a large ashram in India. In my 10 years in India I met many holy men, visited many ashrams and spent many hours in blissful meditation and study of the scriptures. I also met my ex-wife in that country and we had our beautiful daughter there, who is now 6 years old. I now live in Berlin where I am a very happy farther and where I am also retraining in my old job as a nurse."

Page last updated: January 20, 2017, 11:46 pm