OnlineBookClub.org

Featured Book

Books Reviewed by ALynnPowers

70 Published Reviews

8445 posts on the forums

About ALynnPowers

Currently reading:

Interests: I write silly YA books. And I read a bunch of books. Sometimes I review them.

  • I Challenge!
      by Dr. James Aaron Parmelee (book published by Olympia Publishers, UK)
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 3, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Doctor of TESOL James Aaron Parmelee, a native of the United States, is a niche educator in the field of teaching English as a foreign or second language. James (aka Professor Truth) has conducted his own accredited training courses in Thailand for the past 14 years, and graduated more than 3,000 professional teachers who impart the gift of English to students across the world. After leaving his own university studies and serving for four years with the United States Army (including a tour in Vietnam), James eventually prepared himself as a teacher and set up English language and teacher training academies in various locations of Thailand, a country he loves and regards as his second home. James has a Thai wife, Sureeporn, as well as a daughter, Jeynah, and a son, Benjamin, both of whom are bilingual and bicultural university graduates who work with their parents in The Land of Smiles. Although James has made a career of teaching and writing, he is also a deep thinker in terms of the origin and behavior of both our cosmos and mankind in general, and feels that he has original ideas which need to be read by all who are concerned about the condition of our universe and the status and potential future of our planet and its people."

  • My Husband's a Woman Now
      by Leslie Hilburn Fabian, Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 20, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Leslie Hilburn Fabian is a licensed independent clinical social worker in Massachusetts, where she has worked as a psychotherapist and couple’s counselor. She currently lives in Louisiana, where her spouse is an orthopedic surgeon at an Army base. Leslie and Deborah (formerly David) recently celebrated their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary with a cruise to Mexico that included their combined family of six adult children and four spouses. The Fabians are proud owners Gracie, a sweet Mississippi shelter mutt of questionable lineage."

  • The Toki-Girl and the Sparrow-Boy (series)
      by Claire Youmans
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 10, 2016

    Genre: Children's Books
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Claire Youmans has written adult non-fiction and mystery fiction, but has found her literary home in Meiji-era Japan, where the Toki-Girl and the Sparrow-Boy series takes place. Incorporating the chaotic history of the time with folklore and adventure, this highly rated series features engaging characters, many of whom are human and something else who reflect the enduring culture of Japan and surprisingly modern issues. Youmans has traveled frequently in Japan over many years, and used to be able to say she spoke "excellent Japanese for a blonde" but has since turned grey. She lives in California."

  • The Other Side of Him
      by Alice Rene
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 19, 2016

    Genre: Historical Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Alice Rene began her writing career with the publication of a memoir, Becoming Alice, before launching her current novel which is inspired by true events. Afer growing up in the northwest, she now lives in southern California with her husband and Golden Retriever."

  • My Husband Our Father: A Family's Walk Through the Storm of Grief in Search of a Rainbow
      by Michelle Caravelli and family
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 21, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Michelle Caravelli, M.Ed., is the widow of Gus and mother to Brittany, Gina, Louie, and Madeline. She spends her day working with young children through teaching and is currently working on organizing grieving support seminars. Originally from La Crosse, Wisconsin, she now lives in Warwick, Rhode Island, with her family and enjoys spending time by the ocean."

  • The Maid of Salerno
      by Vi Zetterwall
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 10, 2017

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "My name is Vi Zetterwall. I live in Seattle, Washington and have a day job and a private life but for years I have whiled away spare time dreaming up plots and imagining stories about men and women and their unique romantic interactions. I've just finished publishing the twelve books of the Single Heart series and am now working on a short series of dystopian novels. The Maid of Salerno is the first of these. I love stories that show the strength of the human spirit and give us a glimpse of what we could be if we followed our better nature. I believe a good story needs some twists and turns and a few curveballs. Great books throw in a little romance, some heartbreak, an element of adventure, and a boatload of suspense as well. And, I admit it, I’m a sucker for a happy ending."

  • Between the Lines There Lies a Story of Me
      by Sabaine
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published October 4, 2016

    Genre: Drama and Poetry
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Sabaine is a student currently attending Brooklyn College. This book is her first anthology of poems. As a child, Sabaine was moved from one family member to another. This experience has motivated her passion for helping others. Also, she often uses her personal experiences as a guide when writing poetry. Some of Sabaine’s poems have previously been published in different anthologies across the country. She has a Facebook page titled “Inspired Random Thoughts” where she voices her opinions on everyday problems and gives inspirational advice. You can find her on Instagram as _Sabaine_."

  • The Unexpected
      by Lexie LaMonica
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 7, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Lexie LaMonica, a devoted writer and author, has completed her new book “The Unexpected”: a gripping and potent tale about unpredicted love and determination. Published by New York City-based Page Publishing, Lexie LaMonica’s love story is a passionately crafted work that tells a tale about growing up, learning to live and love."

  • Disastrously Fabulous
      by D A Prince
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published July 22, 2016

    Genre: Romance
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "D.A. Prince has worked as a dept store cosmetic salesperson, fashion model, insurance agent and voice-over actor. A native New Yorker, she now lives with her husband and sons in Palm Beach, Florida, close enough to the ocean to hear the waves at night. She is a soccer mum who enjoys travel, tennis, dancing and listening to reggae, R&B and soul. Her idea of bliss is dining with her husband in a restaurant where tuxedoed waiters attend to their every whim and silver cutlery clinks on bone china plates, savoring stone crabs, lobster tails, creamed asparagus and potato chips with a bottle of Benoit Gautier Vouvray."

  • Black footsteps
      by Dj L Stearns
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published July 15, 2016

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "D'J Stearns was born December 14,1988 to a young mother in Houston, Texas. Growing up in Houston he attended Phillis Wheatley high school where in 2008, he was ranked in the top 100 high school basketball players in the city of Houston. After graduating high school he attended Lamar State College in Port Arthur, Texas on an athletic scholarship. The next year he transferred to Highland Community College where he discovered his talent for writing after writing a play for his professor and receiving positive feedback. D'J Stearns then moved back to Houston to help raise his son and find work. While working, he could not ignore the stories in his head that were just waiting to be shared with the world. Thus, began his writing career. D'J Stearns refers to his writings as a hidden talent and plans on creating and bringing to life many more stories for all to enjoy."

  • Preda's Voice
      by Carolyn Gross
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published July 7, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Carolyn Gross is a small animal veterinarian living in New England. She lives with her boyfriend and two cats - a no-eyed alley cat named Link and his one-eyed sister Zelda."

  • Stan
      by Richard Wold
  • Missing Pieces
      by Michael Golvach
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 31, 2016

    Genre: Romance
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Michael Golvach is a freelance writer, living in Grayslake, Illinois. He is a child of a non-digital age. He is also an author of several books, screenplays and many short stories. Visit him at mikegolvach.net"

  • Floor 21
      by Jason Luthor
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published March 25, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Jason Luthor has spent a long life writing for sports outlets, media companies and universities. His earliest writing years came during his coverage of the San Antonio Spurs as an affiliate with the Spurs Report and its media partner, WOAI Radio. He would later enjoy a moderate relationship with Blizzard Entertainment, writing lore and stories for potential use in future games. At the academic level he has spent several years pursuing a PhD in American History at the University of Houston, with a special emphasis on Native American history. His inspirations include some of the obvious; The Lord of the Rings and Chronciles of Narnia are some of the most cited fantasy series in history. However, his favorite reads include the Earthsea Cycle, the Chronicles of Prydain, as well as science fiction hits such as Starship Troopers and Do Androids dream of Electric Sheep?"

  • Secrets of the Home Wood
      by Julie Whitley
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published February 10, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Julie is a retired nurse who has written and painted most of her life. Retirement allowed the fulfilment of new adventures: completing her debut novel, Secrets of the Home Wood: the Sacrifice, starting the sequel, the Stalker, blue-water sailing for the first time to the Caribbean, learning to scuba dive and the greatest adventure of all, becoming a grandmother."

  • The Dream King's Courier: Pawn
      by Patrice Sikora
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 14, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Patrice Sikora has worked in radio news for most of her life, and has always been in love with the power of the medium. She and her husband have three sons and currently share their home with several cats and Italian greyhounds. An avid reader herself, Patrice was inspired to write the first book of the Dream King's Courier series when, one day while on her daily commute to work in New York City, she found herself without anything to read."

  • Exit the Labyrinth
      by Stephanie Kay Bendel
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 2, 2016

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Stephanie Kay Bendel is a freelance writer who has taught writing courses for college and adult education students. She has also run writing workshops for more than 35years."

  • Tokyo's Mystery Deepens
      by Michael Pronko
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published October 1, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Michael Pronko lives and works in Tokyo, Japan. In the afternoons, he teaches American literature, film, music, and art at Meiji Gakuin University. Mornings, he writes. Fielding questions from students about Jackson Pollock or Kurt Vonnegut and then wandering through Shinjuku's neon mayhem cooks up most of the ideas for his non-fiction and fiction, and wandering the world's biggest city evenings and weekends does the rest. After nearly 20 years in Tokyo, what's obvious becomes curious, and vice versa. His writing has appeared in The Japan Times, Newsweek Japan, the once-great city guide Tokyo Q, a weekly ST Shukan, Jazznin (Japan's first bilingual jazz mag), Winds magazine, Jazz Colo[u]rs (in Italian!), and Artscape Japan. His website Jazz in Japan is the first in English about Tokyo's great jazz scene. He also continues to publish academic articles and runs a conference on teaching literature. He has also appeared on programs for NHK (Japan's PBS) and Nihon TV's "The Most Useful School in the World." A new collection of essays about Tokyo, Messages and Maybes and his debut novel, The Last Train will be coming out later in 2015. Beauty and Chaos Awards First Place Gold Prize for Cultural Non-Fiction Reader's Favorite 2015 Book Awards Gold Award Winner in Non-Fiction Book Awards 2015 Gold Creative Nonfiction Elit Awards 2015 Silver Travel Essay Elit Awards 2015 Tokyo's Mystery Deepens Awards Gold Creative Nonfiction Elit Awards 2015 (tied with Beauty and Chaos) Silver Travel Essay Elit Awards 2015 (tied with Beauty and Chaos)"

  • Shadows at Sunset
      by Tonya Royston
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 15, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Tonya lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, son, two dogs and two horses. Although she dreamed of writing novels at a young age, she was diverted away from that path years ago and built a successful career as a Contracts Manager for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. She resurrected her dream of writing in 2013 and hasn’t stopped since the first words of The Sunset Trilogy were unleashed. Shadows at Sunset, Book 1 of The Sunset Trilogy, is her first novel."

  • How To Believe In Yourself
      by Carmen M Parks
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published June 4, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Ms. Carmen Parks is a Holistic Life Coach that helps clients, believe in themselves, create a plan, take action and reach their goals. She believes that the first step toward reaching any goal is actually believing in yourself and your abilities to reach the goal. Carmen has been able to successfully reach any goal she has set her mind to achieve. Before she even knew what they were, Carmen was using mantras in order to complete running races in 8th grade. It is her personal passion to help others identify the self-talk that is holding them back, connect with their own internal power and successfully reach their goals. She enjoys celebrating her client’s successes and helps them realize that most of the limits they have are the ones they set for themselves."

  • Jesse
      by Glen Alan Burke
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 31, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Glen Alan Burke began his writing career doing biographies of deceased people. He has said that the best thing about writing about the dead is there are very few complaints. “If I ever do get complaints, “he has said, “it will be the subject of my next book.” He has a Bachelor’s Degree in Finance but now finds words much more appealing, and more malleable than numbers.Glen Alan Burke is from rural Northern Alabama."

  • Harper Lee and Peppermint Candy
      by Paula Hennessy
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published April 30, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Paula Hennessy has been an RN for over 30 years and has worked both in psychiatry and with the terminally ill. This is her first novel. A sequel to "Harper Lee and Peppermint Candy" is being self published on Amazon in August 2015."

  • Xylander
      by Christine DeYoung
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published April 25, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Christine DeYoung is a former high school science teacher turned stay at home mom. This is her first try at writing fiction and she has many more fantastical ideas for books in the future."

  • The Mansion's Twins
      by Rose M. Channing
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published April 9, 2015

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Rose M. Channing lives in the mansion with Ellie and Savannah most of the time, but when she can get outside her fantasy land, she lives in Oregon with her loud and loving family, a fat lazy cat, and a lot of nonsense-filled notebooks."

  • The Message?
      by Avam Hale
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published March 26, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Avam Hale has worked in the corporate world for over thirty-five years and has spent the past eight years living and working in Beijing, China, as an executive of a large US multinational company. Hale is a member of the inaugural class of World Leaders for Tomorrow, part of the World Economic Forum, along with 200 other luminaries, including Bill Gates, Michael Dell, and Yo-Yo Ma. Hale received an AB from Middlebury College."

  • Light of Day
      by K.M. Thompson
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published March 13, 2015

    Genre: Romance
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on Smashwords

    About the Author: "I'm 27, married with three children. Two boys and One girl. I'm a full time carer for my sons who are autistic and in my very limited spare time I like to write, and if I do get the chance then I read a bit too. I've wrote three books and am currently writing my fourth. I began writing when I wanted to give up smoking, as a way of keeping my hands busy. It started as a bit of fun, I didn't think anything would come of it. Now I have people wanting my next book and/or my next series. I still smoke but I hope to try giving up again soon."

  • Desperate
      by Athena Daniels
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published March 8, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Athena Daniels is the pseudonym of a wife, mother and business partner who takes any opportunity she can get to disappear into the world of fantasy. When not reading she writes romantic suspense. Hot, steamy romance where complicated and damaged characters are thrown together in suspenseful drama. One day, she hopes to fulfill her dream to write full time. In the meantime, she hopes you enjoy her debut novel, "Desperate". If you follow the scent of coffee and chocolate, you will find her busy working on the sequel. "Desperate: The Price of Freedom". The first novel of a new series, "Sage" will be coming in 2015. It’s a steamy romantic suspense with a paranormal twist."

  • Going Below The Water's Edge
      by Ronald Fehribach
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published February 21, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Ronald Fehribach spent his early years growing up in a small Indiana town surrounded by lakes, rivers, and a beautiful countryside. In high school he developed a liking for drafting and entered a technical institute after graduation. He wanted to be an architect, but the assassinations of the 1960s, racial strife, and the Vietnam War lead him to change his plans. Redirecting to a political science degree, he enrolled at Indiana State University and graduated in 1974. At the university, he was able to get his military commission and work in financial and program analysis on a federal training program in Washington and Chicago. Upon graduation he went into the military, where he served in Korea and on several military bases. Rising to the rank of captain with nuclear air defense and field artillery experience (1974–1979), he concluded his duty in the Indiana and Kentucky Army National Guard. After the military he decided to explore the mind. He did his pre graduate work at Indiana University (1977) and completed his master’s in industrial and community service counseling psychology at Eastern Kentucky University (1980). He left for Chicago after graduation and became a broker with a major financial planning firm. Eventually he had the licenses and principal qualifications to start his own financial planning firm—Fehribach Financial Services (1986–2010). In 1991 (and continuing to this day) he created Mama’s Place—The Legend Continues, which is one of the last mom-and-pop rock shops in Phoenix, Arizona. RONALD S. FEHRIBACH MAMA'S PLACE - The Legend Continues Owner Phoenix, Arizona LINCOLN FINANCIAL SECURITIES Financial Adviser Mesa, Arizona JEFFERSON PILOT Financial Adviser Mesa, Arizona FEHRIBACH FINANCIAL SERVICES President Mesa, Arizona FIRST FINANCIAL PLANNERS Financial Advisor Mesa, Arizona F.J. GARBER & COMPANY Financial Adviser Mesa, Arizona LASALLE STREET SECURITIES INC. Financial Advisor Chicago, Illinois FEHRIBACH INVESTMENTS INC. President Chicago, Illinois MOSELEY, HALLGARTEN, ESTABROOK & WEEDEN INC. Registered Representatives Chicago, Illinois EASTERN KENTUCKY UNIVERSITY Masters in Industrial and Community Counseling Psychology Richmond, Kentucky INDIANA UNIVERSITY Preparation for Masters Bloomington, Indiana UNITED STATES ARMY Captain Indiana National Guard Kentucky National Guard Fort Knox Korea Fort Bliss Fort Riley Fort Hood Fort Benning INDIANA STATE UNIVERSITY B.A. Political Science Terre Haute, Indiana ROSE - HULMAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Military commission preparation Terre Haute, Indiana DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, EDUCATION AND WELFARE Financial and Program Analyst - College Coop Program Washington, DC Chicago, Illinois LAIN TECHNICAL INSTITUTE Drafting Evansville, Indiana"

  • Ribbons of Death
      by Edita A Petrick
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published February 14, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Edita Petrick is an avid writer and tale-spinner, she can only be found in digitized state or inside her hard drive...or not at all. Ribbons of Death will be released on February 7th, by Solstice Publishing, and listed on Amazon in e-book format. The publisher provided me with a pdf-author copy for review purposes. I would like a pre-release review-read of the novel. Thank you."

  • Claws of the Dragon- the Fu Gambit
      by Paul Carran
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 23, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Paul Carran is based in New Zealand and has travelled extensively in Asia, including China and Taiwan. He is descended from the Te Atiawa Maori tribe. He is currently researching a sequel to Claws of the Dragon- the Fu Gambit."

  • Who Am I? How My Daughter Taught Me To Let Go and Live Again
      by Megan Cyrulewski
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 21, 2014

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Megan Cyrulewski has been writing short stories ever since she was ten-years-old. After attending Grand Valley State University, Megan eventually settled into a career in the non-profit sector for eight years. She decided to change careers and went back to school to get her law degree from Thomas M. Cooley Law School. While in school, she documented her divorce, child custody battle and postpartum depression struggles in her memoir which is slated to be published on August 2 by Black Opal Books. Megan lives in Michigan with her 3-year-old daughter who loves to dance, run, read, and snuggle time with Mommy. Megan also enjoys her volunteer work with Troy Youth Assistance."

  • Something (Wisteria 1)
      by Shelby Lamb
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 28, 2016

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Shelby Lamb is an author who loves exploring the weird and unsettling. She writes fiction from her own personal life experiences and from the darkness of her imagination and the inspiration around her. Something (Wisteria 1) is her debut work. She currently lives with both parents, a grandmother, and her sister in Toronto, Canada, where she hopes to adopt two cats and finish her second novel."

  • The Cure
      by Tania Hagan
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published June 14, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Tania Hagan was born in Illinois, and raised in Southern California where she attended the University of California at Irvine. During her career, she has worked as a news reporter, an online writer, and an on-air TV news personality. She currently resides in Chicago with her lovely daughter, her husband, and her three dogs. She is also the author of the best-selling dystopian novel titled The Cure."

  • Gypsy Magic
      by Tonya Royston
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published June 8, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Tonya lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, son, two dogs and two horses. Although she dreamed of writing novels at a young age, she was diverted away from that path years ago and built a successful career as a Contracts Manager for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. She resurrected her dream of writing in 2013 and hasn’t stopped since the first words of The Sunset Trilogy were unleashed."

  • Princess Adele's Dragon
      by Shirley McLain
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published April 17, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Shirley is enjoying her retirement from Nursing, after 33 years. She lives outside Sapulpa Oklahoma with her husband, three dogs and three cats. It's like having a house full of three-year-olds. Never a dull moment. At this time she has several publications on Amazon. Her first book, "The Tower" is a juvenile mystery, based in Oklahoma but takes you around the world. She also published an ebook of short stories of different genres called "Shirley's Shorts and Flashes" and a short ebook of Christian Poetry called "Verses For My King""

  • Four in a Fury
      by Nick Goldwater
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published November 10, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Nick Goldwater lives in Auckland, New Zealand, with his wife and two children. Nick used to be a copywriter in the advertising industry, but in 2005 he decided enough was enough and returned to university to study environmental science. He is currently a Senior Ecologist at an Auckland-based consultancy. Nick is happy when he's in the middle of a forest or swamp looking for rare plants and animals."

  • The Alphabet According to Dewey
      by Sheri-Lynn Kenny
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published November 1, 2015

    Genre: Children's Books
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Sheri-Lynn Kenny was born and raised in Northern Ontario. After 17 years with the Canadian Navy, Sheri-Lynn retired and went back to school to train as an elementary teacher. These stories were developed during hours of lesson planning for the classroom. She is now illustrating her own books combining her passion for writing and art."

  • Playing Hurt
      by Gerald L Nardella
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 17, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Born and raised in Livingston, Montana. Served in the US Army before entering college at MSU in Bozeman, Montana. Received a degree in accounting and passed the CPA exam. Now practicing as a self employed accountant in Billings, Montana. Married Peggy, my high school sweetheart. Have two children, six grandkids, and 3 great grandkids. Enjoy golfing, reading, and working on the family cabin in the Crazy Mountains."

  • The Toki-Girl and the Sparrow-Boy Book 2 Chasing Dreams
      by Claire Youmans
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 30, 2015

    Genre: Children's Books
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on Smashwords

    About the Author: "Claire Youmans is the accomplished author of several books, but has truly found a niche with her new and continuing series, The Toki-Girl and the Sparrow-Boy. Set in Meiji-era Japan, a country Youmans is intimately familiar with, she works to present Japanese culture as it exists today authentically in the context of a fascinating period when anything could happen and probably did. She totally enjoys incorporating fluid and often funny Japanese folklore. When she is not in Japan researching her books, Youmans can be found in the California mountains, writing, skiing, boating and gardening. She believes strongly in having fun, and loves both her real and imaginary worlds. She hopes you'll come play in the latter."

  • Contract Pending
      by Al Marsiglia
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 16, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Biography Born in the Bronx NY to Sicilian immigrants, Al Marsiglia has had several successful careers, including actor, real estate broker, over-the-road driver, restauranteur, hypnotherapist and author. He has written three screenplays, two of which garnered semi-finalist status in prestigious competitions. His first novel, Contract Pending was originally conceived as a screenplay and can be found on Amazon. Al currently lives in North Carolina with his wife Rosemarie. Together they have three daughters, nine grandchildren and three great grandchildren"

  • Wages of Sin
      by Charleen Gage
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 7, 2015

    Genre: Non-Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Born in Houston, Texas, Charlene Gage lost her mother at the age of seven. Shortly thereafter, she moved to Opelousas, Louisiana, to live with her grandparents. After graduating from high school, Gage returned to Houston to attend Texas Southern University, graduating with a bachelor’s degree in biology."

  • The Red Coat
      by Madge H. Gressley
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 21, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Madge H. Gressley lives in Missouri with her granddaughter and three dogs (Pixie, Lily and Milo). An award winning visual artist for over 30 years, Madge decided to trade her paintbrush and canvas for paper and pen but, in this case—computer and keyboard—and started her writing career in 2013. She works from home where she squeezes her writing in in between jobs for her graphic design business and letting the dogs in and out—a full-time job in itself. Besides her Sophie Collins Mysteries Series, Madge has written and illustrated two children’s picture books—“Dexter’s Wonderful Day” a Purple Dragonfly Book Awards winner, and “Totally Terrible Tommy” a 5 Star Readers’ Favorite choice. Madge is an accomplished, award-winning visual artist. She is a Signature Member of the Missouri Watercolor Society and Best of Missouri Hands Juried Artist. The scope of her artistic talent covers a wide range of media, including acrylic, oil, watercolor, clay, and graphic design. Her work is proudly displayed in the collections of numerous corporate and private collections throughout the United States, Great Britain, and China. Madge is also co-owner and graphic designer for Art & Graphic Innovations, LLC, a Missouri based graphic design firm, and owner of MEG Originals Fine Art. Follow Madge on Twitter, Facebook, mhGressley Blog, and Website - MEG Originals."

  • Surrender at Sunrise
      by Tonya Royston
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published July 27, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Tonya lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, son, two dogs and two horses. Although she dreamed of writing novels at a young age, she was diverted away from that path years ago and built a successful career as a Contracts Manager for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. She resurrected her dream of writing in 2013 and hasn’t stopped since the first words of The Sunset Trilogy were unleashed. Shadows at Sunset, Book 1 of The Sunset Trilogy, is her first novel."

  • Crawl Naked Over Broken Glass
      by Lawrence Cromwell
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published July 12, 2016

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Lawrence Cromwell is a retired high school science and math teacher who has taken up writing as a second career. In the past, he wrote an anthology of short stories."

  • The Governor's Daughter
      by Sambath Meas
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published June 18, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "After having graduated from Loyola University of Chicago with a bachelor’s degree in political science, and having worked in the corporate world for many years, I have decided to continue to improve myself and to contribute to the richness that is Chicago literature. I love reading history, mystery, supernatural, and science-fiction books. Reading generates ideas, and story ideas are flowing out of me like the Tonle Sap River. I am moving forward to chase that sought-after dream of being a writer. That is why I am attending Northwestern University in Chicago to hone my writing skills and to obtain my master’s degree in creative nonfiction. Writing is my refuge"

  • Naked and Far from Home
      by J.P. Grider
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 10, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "J.P. Grider is a New Adult and Young Adult author who is a sucker for a good love story - whether it's reading one or writing one. And when she's not reading or writing a fairy tale, she's living one."

  • Kingsley
      by Carolyn O'Neal
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 1, 2016

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Author and environmentalist Carolyn O’Neal grew up in Norfolk, Virginia three blocks from the Chesapeake Bay. She is a founding member of BACCA Literary.. Carolyn volunteers with the Chesapeake Bay Foundation and the Virginia Oyster Shell Recycling Program where she collects restaurant-generated oyster shells for the purpose of enhancing the Chesapeake Bay oyster restoration. Carolyn won The Hook’s 2013 Short Story Contest, judged by bestselling author John Grisham. KINGSLEY is her first novel."

  • Silence at Midnight
      by Tonya Royston
  • Shocking Finds (A Finder's Keepers Novel)
      by Tracey Clark
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 30, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I am a country-twang gal from the bluegrass state. Kentucky is a hot bed of horses, cave systems, and whiskey. And I love all three. With my pugs and bossy kitty cat, I spend my days writing and working social media. I write with the help of the voices pushing me to create worlds for them to live in. Fantasy Romance, Contemporary Romance, and eventually some cowboys (because cowboys live in a group all there own, yummmm) are the genres that I love best. In 2005, a serious case of Multiple Sclerosis ended my higher education as I strived to finish my mathematics degree, wiping away all my beautiful numbers and a large portion of artistic talents that I had taken for granted most of my life. After a few years, my beautiful words started to come back to me. Filling my days and nights with imagined worlds helped me to cope with my newfound reality. I am currently working with Mary (my publisher) at Gone Writing Publishing. Each day I find that getting sick has helped me to find my passion."

  • Come on Home Children
      by Victoria Randall
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 2, 2015

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Victoria Randall lives in Seattle, where she works as a case manager. A graduate of Oberlin College, she is the author of The Ring of the Dark Elves, and the Children in Hiding series. She believes in the power of story, especially science fiction and fantasy, to help us appreciate the textures of our own reality and create new visions for our lives."

  • City of Hidden Children
      by Victoria Randall
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published November 19, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Victoria Randall lives in Seattle, where she works as a case manager. A graduate of Oberlin College, she is the author of The Ring of the Dark Elves, and the Children in Hiding series. She believes in the power of story, especially science fiction and fantasy, to help us appreciate the textures of our own reality and create new visions for our lives."

  • Frappe Today Dead Tomorrow
      by Leah J. Fitchett
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published October 29, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "As an avid reader, writer, coffee lover and mother I spend my days writing with my loving family. Typically I will be writing while enjoying the warm hug that is a cup of coffee and enjoying my time spent at home with family and friends. I love the process of developing and creating books and especially love it when a character jumps off of the page and begins telling me that they would never do that. When I’m not writing I am usually reading and still enjoying my coffee."

  • Demon's Ink
      by Kimbra Kasch
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 9, 2015

    Genre: C/T/M/H
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N | on iTunes

    About the Author: "I'm a writer who grew up in an old Victorian house on Mt. Tabor in Portland, Oregon, in a family with 9 kids and only 1 t.v. so I spent my days reading and, later, writing. I love books. . .maybe because I never got to pick the t.v. shows we watched. I’d run home after school to catch the last fifteen minutes of Dark Shadows...every day. I still love to run...or maybe I should say wogging (a cross between walking and jogging). Here in Portland, I love Halloween themed runs - where people don costumes and run. It's a lot of fun...and I know those two words don't always go together: fun...and...run. But it is. And, with all those Halloween themed runs, I guess Dark Shadows had more of an influence than some people might think. Even today my favorite author is Stephen King. My all-time favorite book is Salem's Lot. Favorite romance novels are The Hunger Games...okay, I know, it's a survival book but it's really all about romance. Then there are the series: Twilight, True Blood, Dead Until Dark and more. I really love paranormal, horror and sometimes even light-read books like Dewey the Small Town Library Cat... Mainly, I just love to read. . . and write. I’ve had dozens of articles published in a variety of magazines like Herb Quarterly, Hopscotch, Guide, Romantic Homes, Writer’s Journal, Birds & Blooms and more. Plus, I just signed a contract with CleanReads to publish another young adult novel set in Oregon near the coast, in Mist and Jewel: The Cats of Cullaby Creek. I’ve also had stories published in anthologies like the Sabbath Action Blast, by Guide and you can see them all on my Amazon Author page along with my new adult romance novel: The Viking Princess. Sorry to be so long-winded but did I say I love to write? ...and talk and...knit, and sew, and bake... I could go on but I'll stop by saying, I hope you’ll stop in on my site and I can tell you I’m really excited to be sharing my first young adult novel with you: Demon’s Ink. Thanks for listening."

  • Ink Soul - Trials Of Tattaow
      by Walter Cromartie Jr
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 31, 2015

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Walter Cromartie Jr is a writer/creator of comics and novels. He is also the Founder and Owner of Crow's Comics. Walter works include novel Living For Me which was published by Moore and Poesy Publishing His works in comics include Ink Soul which was published by Crow's Comics. He lives in Tampa Fl at the age of 30 with his wife and 3 daughters."

  • Re-Wired
      by Greg Dragon
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published May 8, 2015

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Greg Dragon has been a creative writer for several years, and has authored on topics of relationship, finance, physical fitness and more through different sources of media.This Florida author brings exciting action and drama to his written work. His storylines keep readers engaged with characters that come to life from the beautiful celestial scenes of science fiction, to the gritty world of urban drama."

  • Double Trouble
      by Judith E. Webb
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published February 6, 2015

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I am the author of the Which Witch Is Which Series. I come from a very talented family of musicians and song writers. I began writing long stories at the age of twelve. As I grew older long stories became novels and my passion for creating fiction grew. I have never looked back..."

  • Spartanica
      by Powers Molinar
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 31, 2014

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Powers Molinar owes his writing inspiration to his son and daughter who, upon reading science fiction novels over the years, would then eagerly tell him about the adventures they'd just experienced. Seeing the enthusiasm these stories generated, Powers started reading the same books, which sparked many of the creative ideas and concepts that lead to the writing of his award-winning debut young adult science fiction novel, Spartanica, the first book in The Survivors of Sapertys Series. Powers and his family live in Libertyville, IL, where he's diligently working on the yet-to-be-named follow-up to Spartanica."

  • Copper Knights and Granite Men
      by Michael A. DiBaggio, Shell DiBaggio
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published November 25, 2014

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Michael's love for storytelling began with an early passion for superhero comics, SF-Fantasy novels, and role playing games. Along with his wife, Shell, he is the co-creator of the Ascension Epoch, an open content, collaborative fiction project released under Creative Commons license. The setting is one where the re-emergence of paranormal talents and the invasion of H.G. Wells' Martians in the 19th century have led to a radically transformed present, a "world of resurgent myth." Their work draws heavily upon classic public domain literature."

  • The Gray Man
      by L. N. Nino
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published October 29, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Every new book I write is a step towards the last one I'll ever write, and I will keep writing the best literature I am capable of, until I write a book good enough to stand side-by-side with the greatest works of Literature. God only knows whether I'll succeed or not. All I can promise is that, as long as I live, I'll never give it up. I invite you, dear Reader, to be part of this literary journey by reading my books and sharing your impressions on them."

  • Cannibal Cheerleader
      by Tiffany Drake
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published January 14, 2017

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Tiffany Drake is a long-time writer who has just finished her first actual book, Cannibal Cheerleader. She lives in rural Montana, and frequently hikes or drives in the woods to brainstorm ideas."

  • The Dream Walker
      by Michelle Murray
    View Review

    Officially rated 1 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published March 18, 2016

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Michelle is a working mother of two young adult men. She loves to read and write. She has been writing since high school, mostly poetry and short stories. This is her first fiction book."

  • Immortown
      by Lily Markova
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published August 2, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "I'm in my twenties and hopefully at the beginning of my indie author career (although I have been writing since I remember having hands). A degree in linguistics, 900 unpublished pages ("still not perfect"), a vital need to create art and consume it--I guess I don't stand a chance to be anything but a writer."

  • Ninja Type Person
      by Brian Warfield
  • Prom Night at Finley High
      by Keith Thomas Walker
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published April 9, 2015

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Keith Thomas Walker, known as the Master of Romantic Suspense and Urban Fiction, is the author of nearly two dozen novels, including Life After, Dripping Chocolate, The Realest Ever and Brick House. Keith’s books transcend all genres. He has published romance, urban fiction, mystery/thriller, teen/young adult, Christian, poetry and erotica. Originally from Fort Worth, he is a graduate of Texas Wesleyan University. Keith has won or been nominated for numerous awards in the categories of “Best Male Author,” “Best Romance,” and “Author of the Year,” from several book clubs and organizations."

  • The Creatives
      by Lindsay Lewis
    View Review

    Officially rated 4 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 29, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "The Creatives is Lindsay's debut novel, and took 3rd place in the 2009 Get Your Stiletto in the Door contest put on by the Chick Lit Writers of the World chapter of the Romance Writers of America. She is currently hard at work ignoring the laundry in favor of writing (whilst wearing bikini bottoms as panties due to said ongoing laundry crisis). Her husband and young children are quite neglected, but she is certain this will only serve to better build their characters whilst she builds hers on the page."

  • Destiny Awaits
      by Jaidis Shaw
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published December 13, 2014

    Genre: Romance
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Jaidis Shaw currently resides in South Carolina with her husband and two beautiful daughters. With a passion for reading, Jaidis can always be found surrounded by books and dreaming of new stories. She enjoys challenging herself by writing in different genres and currently has several projects in the works."

  • No Place for Eco-Sinners
      by Racheal Bates
    View Review

    Officially rated 2 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published October 1, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Racheal Bates has written four fiction novels, as well as a short non-fiction book called The Green Rage. Most of her books are about pollution. No Place for Eco-Sinners is her first novel."

  • Aloha Self-Esteem?
      by Alicia Emamdee
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 25, 2014

    Genre: Young Adult
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon | on B&N

    About the Author: "Alicia Emamdee is the creator of For She Is Beautiful, LLC, a website dedicated to empowering and inspiring women, teen girls and girls of all ages. It provides information on building self-esteem, staying positive and believing in yourself. Alicia has an M.S. in Mental Health Counseling and has over eight years experience working with children and adolescents. As a Registered Mental Health Counselor Intern, she worked as a Child and Family Therapist for two years at a mental health agency in South Florida. Due to an illness called fibromyalgia, however, she was forced to stop working in the counseling field but is finally living out her dream of writing inspirational and motivational books with her first young adult novel on self-esteem for teen girls, "Aloha Self-Esteem?" She is currently working on her second book in the self-esteem series for women in their 30s and 40s."

  • Missing Tomorrow
      by Ken Scudero
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 16, 2014

    Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "Ken Scudero was born in Staten Island, NY in 1989 and has lived there ever since. He studied at St. John's University and earned a Bachelor's degree in Sport Management in 2011. He self-published his first novel, 'Comfortably Awkward' in January 2012 while struggling to find a job after college. In 2013, Zharmae Publishing Press signed Ken to an exclusive contract for his novel, 'Missing Tomorrow.' Missing Tomorrow is a dystopian thriller which takes place on planet Nibiru. It was published on April 10, 2014 by Zharmae's imprint, Luthando Coeur."

  • Looping to the Limit
      by Ginney Etherton
    View Review

    Officially rated 3 out of 4!
    View official review by ALynnPowers - Published September 5, 2014

    Genre: Other Fiction
    View book: on Bookshelves | on Amazon

    About the Author: "I'm a small-town woman with a farm to run and not much spare time to write. After writing a tough nonfiction book to expose child-protection agency injustice, I turned to writing fun beach-reads. I also do volunteer work for Oregon's reading program, SMART, at the local grade school and at my local library."

Page last updated: January 14, 2017, 12:57 am